beauty is in the eye of the beholder

9 Jul

Without getting heavy ( well ermm a bit late for that no ?) I took this of the sky the other night and I started to think we simply don’t stop and think about the beauty around us enough.

I was at the local Spar ( cos there is a friendly Spar where ever you are ), for overseas people Spar is like Tescos or Walmart on a small scale. I got out of my car and thought wow and I stood and looked for a while. Thinking I have my camera here should I look or should I take a photo? So I grabbed my camera, changing lenses, hoping like mad that the scene didn’t change. It did, but it had gotten even more amazing.

How often do we see things but not see them ?  How often do we take for granted our family, or the water in the tap? How often do we not see that achieving something is a BIG deal?  this almost always happens when it is you that has achieved. We are oft very quick to say RARA to someone else, but do you take the time to pat yourself on the back for a job well done? I bet  not. We take those achievements in our stride, even if we are doing the happy dance ( using Annette’s words here) inside, we don’t like to share too loudly and scream about these great things in case people think we are BRAGGING !

Nothing will change that, but here and now I say pat yourself on your back for not eating the chocolate mousse that’s in the fridge, or for getting a POTD, or for getting up and doing the excercise you planned for the day. In fact just getting up is good enough…..

Have a look at this photo of a magnificent African sky and think about what deserves applauding in your life right now !

3 Responses to “beauty is in the eye of the beholder”

  1. voodoo vixen 9 July, 2008 at 4:46 pm #

    Such a beautiful sky, and yes, sometimes we just rush about doing stuff and forget that we only travel this road the once (well, unless you belong to the reincarnation brigade) and should actually be still and enjoy the moment.

  2. mugsbigsis 10 July, 2008 at 12:23 am #

    I think about this all the time. When I see the beautiful sky outside my back door, colorful flowers, birds or butterflies I almost always grab my camera. What I’ve noticed though is that I don’t ever say anything out loud. I agree with you 100%. :O)

  3. Brenda O'Reilly 11 July, 2008 at 8:40 pm #

    you are so right, we never do pat ourselves on our backs and say well done… Your jouranlling was really thought provoking Sam, thanks…
    This photo is beautiful !! When I saw this I thought, gosh that is the African sky that I used to see, back Home and how many times did I stop and appreciate it ?

Leave a Reply

