To diet or not

27 Aug

That is the question.

OK SO I bet you have asked this question a few times in your life. Unless you are a skinny b&*ch and then I hate you anyway ! 🙂 not really – I love all my skinny freinds.

So here’s the thing. And hear me out here. I think that my weight worries other people more than it worries me. I worry about my weight for others more than I worry about it for me. And here’s why.

I look at myself once in the morning to make sure my skirt isn’t stuck in my panties, or that my trousers haven’t shunk (! yeah right) and are sitting on my ankles. So I look at myself for say…. 1 minute … you ahve to look at me for the rest of the day. I kinda think people think Shame look how fat she got…. ok if you want to be politically correct maybe they think…. gee she is eating well.

You might be thinking is this woman weight obsessed? I probably am because I have fought it every day of my adult life, I have gone to gym and boot camp, I have in the past bought most of the …and if you call in the next 2 mins you get this potion for free. Yes free. However at the age of 45 I have worked out that they don’t work. Took me a while though. And I have to admit I do get quite exited when I watch that stupid channel and the thought of maybe – just maybe – it could work. Then reason kicks in.

One of my clients said the other day : ” I am waiting for 70 , cos I hear that’s when weight just starts dropping off”.

So maybe we should all just wait until 70, and lets just eat and be merry…. what’s your theory ????

5 Responses to “To diet or not”

  1. Brenda O'Reilly 27 August, 2008 at 10:28 am #

    Eat and be Merry :).. having said that, I started watching what I eat yesterday. No diet as such, just recording the food I put in my mouth and counting the calories.

  2. jacki janse van rensburg 27 August, 2008 at 10:58 am #

    hi sam.

    i left you a little something on my blog for you. i know you don’t normally ‘do’ tags, so you can pass it on to oprah, prince william, etc…

    did they ever respond?

  3. mugsbigsis 27 August, 2008 at 1:52 pm #

    I say that God made everyone different. He made giraffes thin and hippos not so thin. I think he made people the same way. . . short, tall, thin, not so thin. If there is no health reason for dieting then I say be who you are. It is a shame we try to be the person that we think others want us to be. I think it would be horrible to live in a world of Dr. Seuss Sneetches.

  4. melody 28 August, 2008 at 8:19 am #

    The whole weight thing is misunderstood. Your body needs to be FIT AND HEALTHY.

    Whether its a large fit and healthy or a skinny fit and healthy – thats up to the individual.

  5. Michelle Van Deventer 28 August, 2008 at 10:57 am #

    I knoow what you mean about only looking at yourself for 1 mina dn other people look at you all day. My problem is exactly that – only that when I see myself in photos or look at my reflection in a shop window I want to scream and shout cause I can sweat that it’s not me! Worst of all are fitting romm mirrors! I swear one day I’m gonna hang myself by my bra strap in one of those freakin fitting rooms!!!!

Leave a Reply

