Sense of humour

28 Aug

Do you have a good sense of humour? or does it have to hit you in the face ?

Is it at it’s height when someone falls over into a cake ? or when someone says something so funny you spit out your coffee all over your computer ?

I love humour. I have a sick sense of humour and am not really offended by much if it is funny. I see it as it is. And let’s face facts, humour is like art, we all see it in a different way. I think a good sense of humour helps me personally getting through life (firstly) and secondly helps me in my scrapbooking.

But I think I inherited it. Do you think there is such a thing? My kids have fantastic senses of humour (great English) but they do ! My dad was a great orator of stories and his sense of humour belied the fact that he had had a really crappy life. I think his constant tease and mock attitude to us kids having 5 living at home must have been straining in every way) was the only way he could cope. But it instilled in me the fact that I cannot take things too seriously. And to see the cup as half full (damn lucky) and to try and see the light at the end of the proverbial tunnel. (and NO it isn’t a train coming)

So, thanks dad for my good sense of humour, albeit a bit whacky at times. I miss you.

3 Responses to “Sense of humour”

  1. Michelle Van Deventer 28 August, 2008 at 10:51 am #

    I so agree with you on this Sam – life would be utterly boring without humour! I love to laugh until my tummy hurts and my pants are wet and I lie in a bundle on the floor – it doesn’t happen that often though but I have to have a good laugh at least once a day! Luckily for me between Leon and the kids there are PLENTY to laugh about! 😀

  2. mugsbigsis 28 August, 2008 at 1:25 pm #

    What do you mean? 😉 lol

    I don’t know if it is inherited or learned, but luckily my kids got it, too. 🙂

  3. melody 29 August, 2008 at 8:50 am #

    I used to have a sense of humour. Then I had 3 kids, got a doos for a dog, a large bond and a busy husband.

    It shows up occasionally and I think I just need to dig deeper and laugh more!

Leave a Reply

