3 days down

19 Sep

and I know I am going to LOVE this assignment.

I spent the past 3 days in the informal sectors of our community aka townships. It was in a place called Soweto and no matter how many times I go there for shoots I always come back wih a heart full of images and stories of REAL people and I love it.

These people live very hard lives often with no running water or 6 people sharing a bed and yet they are happy and open hearted and wonderful.

I needed a crowd shot so we went to Dube staion at 6am and as the trains came in you heard the African gospel singing coming from the train. I always get goose-pimples with this beautiful sound. No picture tells this story.

UBUNTU – the meaning of Africa. The fact that people are people because of people is so evident in the next 2 images. this was an old lady (gogo) and a passer-by simply stopped to help lift her goods onto her head and then walked off !

 

This granny ( gogo) was so happy I came into her home to hear her stories. Betty Makele – I love your stories – and your sense of humour is amazing. At 90 to still be so vain and so full of vibrancy I admire you. Salekahle Ugogo (stay well )

 

Ok so have you had enough yet? Hope not….. this is a lonnnngggg journey. Hope you share it with me.

Sam

3 Responses to “3 days down”

  1. mugsbigsis 20 September, 2008 at 1:19 am #

    OH Wow, SAM! I knew your update would be fantastic. LOVE the photos and I can’t wait to see more. I can only imagine the feeling hearing the music and seeing the everyday happenings. Oh, you are so privileged to be able to go into these wonderful people’s homes and hear their stories. God’s speed, Sam. Enjoy!

  2. Michelle Van Deventer 22 September, 2008 at 8:36 am #

    Absolutely breathtaking! Your photos are sooooo REAL!!! Love each one and can’t wait to see more! Keep them coming! 🙂

  3. Katrina 28 September, 2008 at 2:19 pm #

    Oh Sam. These images are spectacular. I love seeing and hearing about your extraordinary country. So much better than through news headlines and books I’ve read.

    I’m visiting you someday…

Leave a Reply

