Day 14 of 21 and we went rural !

15 Oct

and boy wsa it colourful and hot and fun ! we went to a place called Tugela Ferry where the people simply are real rural and still do all things traditional. I loved it !

just in case you thought I wasn’t really there this is the proof I have for now. …….. wait some more evidence to come. ( maybe not today though)

Just before we left on our journey it was very miserable here in Umhlanga (wish I could hear you all trying to say THAT word) 🙂 anyway it is a beach town in Natal on the East coast of South Africa.

I love lighthouses but don’t have access to too many in my home town of Johannesburg (a long way from the sea)

Have a look at these girls walk to school. The road goes right down into the valley and then they have to walk all the way back up. You can see the school building at the top.

So it’s HOME tomorrow for a couple of days and then off to Eastern Cape for the 2nd to last haul !

3 Responses to “Day 14 of 21 and we went rural !”

  1. mugsbigsis 16 October, 2008 at 12:13 am #

    Once again, I feel silly just saying, “Beautiful, Sam!” But, I so love being able to see your travels through your blog.

  2. voodoo vixen 16 October, 2008 at 5:06 am #

    Great pics Sam, you are doing a ster,ing job, my friend!! Love the one fo the feet, brilliant and the woman with her beads and hat… I have the beads, I have the hat… I will never achieve that amazing look though! 😦

  3. Brenda O'Reilly 27 October, 2008 at 10:14 am #

    I can say Umhlanga 🙂 the photies are beautiful !!

Leave a Reply

