My son has got a Christmas tree…. first time ever

11 Dec

untitled

I know as a mother I should be saddened by the lack of reality he has. A Christmas tree should be a pine needled affair. It should have tinsel and baubles. The only similarity that this has to the real deal is the colour ! There are no flashing lights. There are no snowmen. The WORST thing is that there isn’t an angel or a fairy on the top. I have never been a star on the top person. 🙂

I suppose I should be proud that he has a tree. I should be proud that he has an amazing steady hand and is good at balance. I should be proud that he could afford to buy that many bottles of Grolsch, I suppose. I hate to think of the party these guys must have had. all in the casue of the Christmas tree. Can you imagine the conversation ( or slur ) ?
“Hey, just the top 2 layers to go ” HIC
“No ways”
‘Shinkj weeee cann du it tomora ?”
“Or nest Shrismas?”
“Be a man…. sheak it on the chin boys. One for the Shrismas shree” HIC

Anway, Hope you are as proud as I am. Enjoy .

ps all people and places in this novel are purely fictional. Start of my book maybe ?

6 Responses to “My son has got a Christmas tree…. first time ever”

  1. voodoo vixen 11 December, 2008 at 2:03 pm #

    LOL, the thing is… I can see Dustin doing this for the fun of it!!

  2. mugsbigsis 12 December, 2008 at 4:11 am #

    Ok, I just have to say that I LOVE IT! Don’t get me wrong I am a Christmas Tree person and no disrespect for his, but . . . well, I’m thinking he has some of his mom’s creativity. He didn’t put an angel on top of one bottle and call it good now did he. Way to go Dustin! I LOVE it! :O)

  3. Tertia Jacobs 12 December, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    You crack me up Sam! He obviously take after his mother, always a little bit of fun in there somewhere.

  4. Trish 15 December, 2008 at 8:12 am #

    So I’ve been thinking about this a lot. There is so much in this one photograph that you can explore in a short story format. It’s a great way to get a story starter…google images! Did I tell you I have to write a short play about someone making the most difficult decision in their life and I googled it (cos my creativity was at it’s lowest). On a message board a lady said the most difficult decision she’d ever made was not to attend her daughters funeral….well that started me off just beautifully (OMG what a decision to make!).

    Don’t really know what my point is except that I think you’d better put into practise your writing course cos what you wrote there is fab!!!

    Love you sis.

    PS Are you really not a star on top person? If so, that’s another twinny thing for us!

  5. Tracy (aka jazzmatazz) 22 December, 2008 at 2:11 pm #

    OK, all motherly concerns aside, I LOVE IT! Very creative, sparkling, original … WOW! I think it’s just dazzling! He certainly inherited his mother’s sense of style and whimsy! 😉 Now, as a mother, I would chose to believe this was either a year long collection effort on Dustin’s part or the help of several friends over a relatively long period of time (not measured in hours, that is!). My only concern would be if any small children or lively four-legged creatures with excitable tails came calling …

  6. detta 29 December, 2008 at 4:36 pm #

    Oh my goodness, this makes me laugh so much. I love that tree and you photographed it beautifully, too…..

Leave a Reply

