photography

7 Sep

My life consists of many facets and ONE is photography. I do it for work – I do it for love – I do it for creativity. It’s my passion. But I know MANY of the people in my life wonder why I do it .

I read this a little while ago and it pulled at my heart strings.

When I look at your photos, I don’t feel like I’m looking at something that you actually saw, I feel like I’m looking at a memory of yours, and the emotions around it at that time.

And then I couldn’t stop thinking, meditating and contemplating all the possibilities that were unfolding before my eyes.

Photography is a lot, lot of different things. It is an art form, a medium, the expression of one self, of a thought, an opinion, an emotion. It is about capturing beauty, and sharing it. What I realized though, is that for me photography is about extending a moment beyond the limits of time, distance and memory. It is giving me, and all of us, the wonderful ability to hold onto that one moment, and how we felt at that moment. How amazing is that?

So if you ever wonder WHY you photograph your life. Remember this.

One Response to “photography”

  1. mugsbigsis 7 September, 2009 at 11:50 pm #

    So well said. 🙂

    I think this is why I love candid photos so much better than posed photos. I love the emotion that is in a “real” smile or the concern that is in a face that doesn’t know he/she is being photographed. When I see a photo that I think is spectacular it almost always makes me wonder “what is their story?”

Leave a Reply

