10 hours to go !

7 Nov

10 hours to go.

10 hours until all starts to be revealed. The promos and build up for the show has been fun to watch and be a part of and this will certainly be my 15mins of fame.

Well actually my first claim to fame was when I was 15mins old. I was on TV then. Back in the 60’s. Can you believe that? One of those pieces of info you would never have known about me. The whole reason was that my dad delivered me in a massive snow storm. The mid-wife couldn’t get there in time – I was clearly in a hurry to be a part of the world and was not gonna wait for a midwife to come. So, back to being on TV part of the story. The house was freezing, no money in the 60’s you know. So the warmest place in the house was on top of the TV. So there I was all brand new, snuffling and staring up at the world and I was put in a shoe box on top of the TV. See – I told you I was on tv when I was 15mins old. ( Sorry – that is the LAMEST story my dad, bless his British dry sense of humour soul, always proudly told)

SO back to later today and the next 10 weeks.

Sharp Shooter South Africa. It’s gonna be a blast. I think we have all become accustomed to reality TV. I think we all think to ourselves imagine being a part of it. Imagine winning the prizes and title to go with the number 1 spot. Imagine all the glamorous places you go. Imagine the lights/cameras/action. How amazing it would be to have the hair and makeup. How people will look at you as you run down a street with cameras following you. But the reality part of reality tv is it is simply not quite like that.

The prizes and “fame and glory” are so far from your mind. Getting the interviews done without blowing it, actually playing the game, making sure you think about playing the game, not letting people talk you into or out of things. Planning which way to go. Trying to outsmart the system. Trying to think what the production team are going to throw you into in the next 5 minutes or the next day. The unknown was a big thing for me. I am usually very planned and organised and I kind of know what the day or week will bring. Not on a reality TV set. I learned very quickly to give in to the team and do whatever they said. Allow myself the privilege of not getting over flustered about the timing of things. Hey I wasn’t perfect at not getting a little flustered but I knew I had to relax and succumb to the amazing world of a TV production.

Trying hard not to fall asleep was also high on the thought agenda. The HEAVY schedule was taxing beyond belief. A few hours of sleep a night was tough beyond belief. A lot of that time was sitting around doing nothing – waiting – being on standby – for a take or an interview or a link or hair or makeup. That’s what the reality of reality TV is.
I know that I am going to cringe at a few things I do or say in the show. But that’s what its all about I suppose. There a few incidences that will come forward if they are edited in and they will make me cringe and lol. I will share these with you no matter if they are on TV or not.

I guess I am being billed as the GRANNY. All the pointers are there in the promos. But that’s ok cos it is a position in life I relish and hell it’s what I am. At least I don’t have a perm and a purple rinse hey.

It will be interesting to watch how each person is type cast. I will be chatting about the contestants, in my eyes, as it goes along and it should be fun to here it from the behind the scenes perspective.

My blog entries will always be from my perspective and will have no input or confirmation from the show itself.
I hope you enjoy my sharing of this fun, exciting experience. I will endeavour to keep you behind the scenes right there with me.

One Response to “10 hours to go !”

  1. Louise 8 November, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    I watch the first episode last night, your pics was great….

    I just got one question, where did you apply and will they have another competition like this, please reply to my personal email louise.duplessis@up.ac.za i want to enter my hubby for this kind of competition.

    Good luck, hope you win!!!!

Leave a Reply

